No More Fun Folks

10 10 2006

Fall Break’s over. Fun time’s gone. Back to the evils of college. My weekend full of knitting adventure was great even if my hands are so cramped that I can’t type right now.

Went to my first local guild meeting tonight. It was fun. I paid dues for the rest of the year, only to go to a Pep Band meeting afterwards and find out that I can’t make it to the next three official guild meetings. Bummer. That’s the bad thing about pep band. When I first discovered the world of blogging last year, it was during pep band season, so I couldn’t make it to these SNB groups because the meetings were on Pep Band game nights. The practices never conflict, just the games.

10101.jpgAnyways, we started scarves at the guild meeting. I dug some Red Heart from the stash for the occasion. I hate this scarf. It isn’t the yarn though, I think I’m just using needles that are too small. It’s too hard to cable with fabric this thick, so I’m going to go up to size 10 and see what happens.

10102.jpgIn other news, I cast on for Blue Pomatomus #2 yesterday, and actually started knitting today.





One Pomatomus

10 10 2006

Finished the first Pomatomus. Finally. It was actually finished yesterday morning, but because my boyfriend and I have practically spent all weekend together, nothing really got posted about. As soon as I finished the sock I tried it on my foot out of fear it would be too small. And it was TIGHT! So I worried, tried to assure myself his legs were thinner than mine, and forced him to try it on when he got here last night.

I made him pose for pictures, but then he wouldn’t take it off, because it was his and he wanted to wear it.

10103.jpgI know, I know… hard to see. But he likes blue. It’s easy to see the pattern in real life, just impossible to take a picture of.10104.jpgAnd it pooled everywhere except fort he heel and toe. Go figure.

This makes me wonder. The washing instructions say hand wash. The thing I want to know is whould it hurt the socks if they were machine washed cold on a delicate or gentle cycle? This has been bugging me. My mom told me to go ahead and wash on cold, but I don’t want to ruin them either. Opinions please?

Now comes the real task of remembering how I made the first one. I took very little notes, and I faced so many stupid little issues making it toe up, things that could definitely be fixed on the second, but I feel like I should make the second the same as the first.