Dishcloths, socks and HANDSPUN! OH MY!

6 01 2007

janKALFinished up the Monthly Dishcloth January KAL this morning, wove ends in and everything!  Click on the pictures if you want bigger ones.  I had to turn the flash off so you guys could actually see the pattern.  It’s one of those hard to photograph type things.

It’s cool.  I really enjoy the KAL.

socksI’ve been doing a lot with socks lately too.  I joined the Lime and Violet sock marathon and Socktopia so it’s been all about socks this January… that is at least until I got bored which happened the other night.  So far I’ve got a toe done on my Socktopia sock (the blue one.)  The purple one is a test knit and I’ll give you more details when that pattern is released.

woolhandspunOh, and remember when I said I got bored the other night?  I ended up with 200 yds of handspun.  I bought 8oz of that Cherry Tree Hill roving last summer and so far I’ve got one finished skein.  It took almost 2 hours to ply just the one skein.  The good news?  I’ve got a ton of yardage in that little skein and I usually end up with around 4.5 skeins when I’ve got 8 oz of roving.  Cross my fingers, if I stay consistent and don’t rush I could end up with approximately 900yds!  If that happens, I’m making a shawl. YAY!  Of course because it’s so thin it takes a loooong time to spin.  It’s so pretty though, I just love the colors.  It’s not the softest wool, but the colors make it worth it.

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 01 2007
Valerie in San Diego

Ooh, very pretty handspun!!

6 01 2007
julieanne

That Cherry Tree Hill yarn looks nice. Also, I like the new blog layout!

6 01 2007
kristen

Great pictures – dishcloth, the socks, and the cherry tree hill yarn. That purple sock toe looks like Knitpicks Rocky Mountain Sunset…I probably got the name wrong again, but I used it for my mom’s Pomatomus socks last year. 🙂 Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

