Yarn Containers

22 01 2007

yarnbinWhile waiting to get some photos developed from last February I bought a bin.  A BIG bin.  It has wheels, and since my bed is really high, there was no doubt in my mind that it would roll easily under my bed.  I was wrong.  It is approximately 2 inches too tall. So I thought long and hard about what to put in it… and then it occured to me.  I have a computer box under my bed and a laundry hamper packed full of acrylic.  I bet I could fit all of my acrylic in the bin and have tons of room left for my knifty knitters and my spindles!  OH! That would work!

Nope.  I had far more acrylic that I thought I did.  In fact I couldn’t fit the 6lbs of acrylic that I bought for the afgahn into my bin.  So it’s official… I have probably about 50 gallons of yarn.  I have a 44 gallon bin, and another 6lbs that didn’t fit.  Oh dear.

This really made me think about the stash.  I’ve decided I want a stash, but not a huge one because I really don’t want all my nice yarn sitting around in the stash until I get a chance to knit it.  There’s no reason for that.  I want to be able to buy yarn and use it right away, with enough for a few projects hanging around in case I get the urge to start something else.

This is my dream stash.  Enough yarn for:

  • 1 sweater

  • 2 shawls

  • 5 pairs of socks (cause I love sock yarn)

  • 2 scarves

  • 2 hats

  • 2 or 3 skeins of acrylic for charity stuff

  • plus all those odds and ends left over from projects. (can also be used for the charity stuff)

  • no more than 3 lbs of fiber.

That’s not too much… and I’ve decided that I will not run out and buy yarn until I finish something something.  Aka… finish socks, buy more sock yarn! Of course when fiber festivals are concerned this can be broken seeing as how those don’t come around very often.  Gift yarn doesn’t count either.  If I buy yarn to make everyone socks, that doesn’t count as my stash yarn.  Let’s see how long this goal lasts.. heehe.  I’ve got a few years before I ever move out, this stash should hopefully be much smaller by the time that coems around.

Hopefully now that I’ve written it down somewhere…I’ll be responsible and stick to it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 01 2007
Valerie in San Diego

I like this way of thinking about a stash!

23 01 2007
Andi

Holy Toledo… you weren’t kiddin’.

Leave a Reply

