Happy New Years EVE!!

31 12 2007

Happy New Years EVE everybody!

So in honor of the new year let’s reflect on the resolutions I made last year:

1. Get yarn down to two bins by September (That was a goal I set last September. I don’t think it’s going to happen but I’m going to try the best I can. As long as the stash goes down a little, I’ll consider it an accomplishment.)   This whole Knit from the stash 2007 should really help with that though. HAHAHA!  In fact my stash has probably increased.  I tried.  I did the whole “knit from your stash 2007” thing and you know what, sock yarn and roving were exceptions… exceptions that I LOVED.  That’s probably why the whole yarn diet thing didn’t work.  🙂

2. Participate in the KALs that I sign up for. Or at least as much as I can seeing as how college tends to get in the way of my fun. Stupid school work.  I started off good, did it once or twice, then started spinning like crazy and watched my knitting time disappear.

3. Start Christmas presents early (maybe summer), and don’t make things where I have to worry about peoples sizes. (aka. DON’T TRY TO KNIT EVERYONE SOCKS. Scarves are good, possibly some stuff knit out of handspun.)  Did the vegan fox scarf for my sister’s birthday.  Other than that there was no x-mas knitting.4.  Knit with my handspun.  It will not melt if I try to work with it….. I should not be so afraid of it… really.  Hehe… didn’t do that either.  I was planning on knitting with some of it, but it just never happened.Yup… I didn’t really do any of them like I had planed on.So now to make some goals for 2008!

  • I will use up more yarn than I bring in.  I’m measuring this by weight since a lot of my acrylic doesn’t have yardages listed.  I’ve made a very detailed spreadsheet of all the stuff in my stash including the acrylic!  I even got rid of 3 of those plastic grocery bags full of acrylic.  I’m not going to say that I won’t buy yarn, because I’m sure I will, I just don’t want to have MORE next January than I do now.
  • I’m going to eat healthier and get more active this year.  Not so much a “I will loose weight” goal but a “I’m going to get healthy” goal.
  • I’m going to save money.  I don’t make tons with work and I have a scary amount of yarn.  So really knitting up the stuff I already have means less money spent on yarn.

Now for pictures of the scary yarn and fiber stash!  Pictures that will hopefully keep me from buying more this year.
Stash

Acrylic! AHH!  Funny thing is some of the stuff in that picture I actually decided to get rid of after taking the picture.  So the fun fur is gone, the pinkish/purple yarn ball is also gone and the blue one by it also left.  🙂
Stash

Here is the acrylic baby yarn stash.  Mr. Oreo decided he was going to jump into the photo and since he wasn’t blocking anything I let him stay.  Really it’s not tons.  The stuff that looks really old on the right side is stuff that belonged to my great aunt who died before I was born and that stuff I’m always keeping.
Stash

One picture of the natural fibers yarn stash.  AKA non-acrylic. 
Stash

2nd picture of non-acrylic yarn.  🙂
Stash

Last picture of non-acrylic yarn.  As you can see I couldn’t fit it all in one picture.  Yea… the last picture is mostly handspun… handspun that I haven’t knit with yet.  😛

Now for the fiber stash!  This one did not need 3 pictures… it only needed 2. 
Stash

Picture number 1.
Stash

Picture number 2.  Now I’m going to go take all these lovely pictures of mine and make a background for my computer that way I can see my stash at ALL HOURS OF THE DAY!  🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2007
Jennifer

those sound like great goals – good luck keep them and happy new year!!
ps – that is ALOT of yarn…i’m way to nervous to put all of mine out like that lol

31 12 2007
Jeanne

Very pretty yarn! And very good goals for 2008 – I have the same ones!

Leave a Reply

