Great Lakes Fiber Show 2008

24 05 2008

Going into the fiber festival, I had a list, and it was going to be cheap. I was going to get SUPERWASH roving to make socks for the 3 people that appreciate my handknits the most, my dad, my sister, and my boyfriend.

What did I bring home?

Creatively Dyed

Two 8oz bumps of roving from Creatively Dyed (google her, she has an online shop). The green will be for my sister, and the pink will most likely be for myself. Either that or the pink will end up on etsy if I’m sick of it, or run out of knitting time.

Next:

Buffalo Blend

Batts! FROM THE BUFFALO LADY! I’ve bought stuff from them in the past (haven’t spun it yet hehe) but it is quite lovely. This was purchased as a request from the boyfriend. He decided he wanted fingerless mitts instead of socks. Which is fine by me, because it’ll be a faster knit. 😉

And last but not least…. drum roll please!

Coopworth Fleece
My Coopworth Fleece. I fell in love the moment I saw it. it was just so white! AND filled with lanolin! Double bonus. hehe. It shall be washed soon, and carded whenever I get around to it. I don’t know how fast I’ll get to the fleece, cause I’ve got other things I want to work on, but I do know that I’ll be at least washing the fleece in the near future. Just as soon as I figure out how… Thank goodness for the internets. 🙂

Well I didn’t get anything that I had said I was going to buy. But I’m happy. My sis will get bright, obnoxious handspun socks, with enough handspun leftover if she should wear any holes in them. The boyfriend is happy cause he’s getting mitts, and my dad will get something special, even if I have to buy the roving online.

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 05 2008
Jeanne

Gorgeous roving! Have fun with the fleece….

25 05 2008
hookedonstring

Gorgeous indeed.

26 05 2008
liberry

Hey there Kraftie,
I ended up getting a fleece too. And a new wheel!! I am insane. I got a Majacraft Suzie Pro. One of these days we will meet up at one of the knit nights.

28 05 2008
Sourire11

Beautiful purchases! I’m so regretting not buying any roving at creatively dyed… sorry we didn’t run into each other!

Leave a Reply

