A small FO.

20 10 2008

I actually finished something!  Actually, it was two somethings!  WOOT!  Hehe.  The first thing off the needles was another scarf for charity.

Charity Scarf

Used up some acrylic I bought for a scarf a few years back. Of course I still have more left so I’ve started yet another scarf from the same yarn. I’m determined to get some of this acrylic out of my stash. 😉 So I rushed off to remove the yarn from my spreadsheet, because yes, I am crazy, and noticed the yarn ball was only 30g less than the number on my spreadsheet. How can that possibly be. A scarf out of 30g of yarn? Nope. Weighed the scarf and it weighs 60g. The only thing I can think is that when I originally weighed the yarn it was January, so pretty much the dead of winter. And we all know that yarn tends to suck in some humidity which can affect the weight. So I guess that’s what must have happened. Either way, when the yarn is gone, it’s gone and completely out of the stash. I just have to get it to that gone part.

The next project was started AND finished this past Saturday. I started the washcloth to donate to a basket that some for a silent auction that one of my groups I’m in is doing. I’m thinking of making a few more. If they aren’t needed in the basket, then I’ll keep them!

The Top View:
Candy Corn Washcloth

The Front View:
Candy Corn Washcloth

I *love* illusion knitting. If the pattern looks familiar its probably because I made the same one about two years ago. I love this pattern so much. This time when I made it, I used about 37g of yarn total. So it wasn’t much of a stash buster. However, the good part is that I have enough left for several more wash cloths! If you’re interested, I used about 5-7 g of each of the colors, and about 20g of the black. Of course those numbers aren’t horribly accurate, but it’ll give you a rough idea if you plan to make one for yourself from some scraps you have hanging around. The are more details on my ravelry page about it, such as yarn/needle size and all that type of stuff. So if you want the crazy specific details, check there, or feel free to send me an e-mail. 🙂

But hey! The good news is that my yarn is down from last month! So that’s a good thing! If I finish the pair of socks I’m working on by the end of the month, we’ll be in even better shape!

Actions

Information

One response

20 10 2008
Valerie in San Diego

I really, REALLY have to learn illusion knitting. Love your washcloth!

Leave a Reply

